Meet Our Staff

Posted on Thu, 08 Oct 2015 in: Explore Home Dialysis Team

Dr. Joanne Bargman, MD, FRCPC

 Dr. Joanne Bargman is a staff nephrologist at the University Health Network and Professor of Medicine at the University of Toronto. She received her MD cum laude from the University of Toronto. She was an exchange fellow in Melbourne for her senior medical residency year, and then pursued nephrology training at Stanford University. Her research focused on renal physiology and micropuncture. Upon returning to Toronto, she was recruited to the Toronto Western Hospital where she trained in peritoneal dialysis under Dr. Dimitrios Oreopoulos.

She has more than 550 invited lectures internationally, on subjects as diverse as peritoneal dialysis, glomerulonephritis, and management of systemic lupus erythematosus. She is Director of Peritoneal Dialysis for the University Health Network in Toronto, and co-director of the Combined Renal-Rheumatology Lupus Clinic for the University Health Network.

She has won the “Silver Shovel”, given by the graduating medical class of the University of Toronto to the best lecturer in the undergraduate years. She has also won the University Of Toronto Faculty Of Medicine Postgraduate Teaching Award, given to the best teacher in the postgraduate program. Recently she was chosen as the 12th Robert Collins Visiting Lecturer in dialysis at the University of Colorado in Denver. Dr. Bargman is co-author of the chapter “Chronic Kidney Disease” in the 17th and 18th edition of Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine.

Dr. Christopher T. Chan, MD, FRCPC

 Dr. Christopher Chan is the Director of Division of Nephrology at University Health Network. In 2010, Dr. Chan was appointed Medical Director of the Home Hemodialysis Program at University Health Network. He is a Professor of Medicine at the University of Toronto. He has won numerous awards including the International Hemodialysis Society Research Award (2003), the Charles Hollenberg Clinician Scientist Research Award (2002) and several teaching awards. His research activities include studies into the impact of nocturnal hemodialysis on lowering blood pressure, malnutrition, inflammation and atherosclerosis. He has contributed over 150 peer reviewed publications.

Dr. Chan is also responsible for leading the implementation of an integrated renal information system for the UHN hospitals and for the provincial chronic kidney disease information technology feasibility study. He is an Executive Member of the Ontario Renal Network Committee on Independent Dialysis, Ontario Renal Network, Ontario, Canada.

Dr. Chan holds the R. Fraser Elliott Chair in Home Dialysis.

Dr. Rory McQuillan, MD, MRCPI

  Dr. Rory McQuillan is a staff nephrologist and clinician in quality and innovation at the University Health Network and an Assistant Professor of Medicine at The University of Toronto. He graduated from University College Dublin in 2002 and did his internal medicine and nephrology training in Ireland.  He then completed a 2 year fellowship in Nephrology at University of Toronto. Following this he pursued further training in Quality Improvement through the Veterans Affairs Quality Scholars (VAQS) Fellowship program as well as a Masters in Medical Education at UofT.

His interests are in medical education and quality improvement. Nationally, He led The Choosing Wisely Canada Campaign for The Canadian Society of Nephrology and is a member of the Choosing Wisely leadership group. He has served on the education committee of the CSN. On an international level he has been an invited speaker at Veterans Affairs Geriatric Scholars conferences and mentors healthcare professionals across the United States through Quality Improvement projects

Locally, he is the co-director of the VAQS Toronto site and the Undergraduate Medical Education lead for resource stewardship. He has established a successful bedside peritoneal dialysis catheter insertion program and a simulation based mastery learning program for temporary hemodialysis access.

In 2015, he was recognized with the new faculty award for teaching excellence at UofT.